I did it! (sort of ;p) Choc Banana?

my little daughter playing with her first amigurumi; Choc Banana

Last night, I finally finished my first amigurumi; Banana Ami by Barbara S.  All in all, it took me 2.5hours to crochet this cute little banana.  Mine was no where close to the original banana pattern.  What I used?

Here is the list:
Tulip hook size 4.0mm
acrylic yarns; brown and cream color 8-10ply
embroidery needle
scissors
the free pattern of course
Allow me to share my experience working on this pattern.
I have to say choosing the right size yarn and a matching hook was a little adventure for me, as the pattern did not mention any recommended size for yarn nor hook. And me having to crochet or amigurumi on a budget was not helping either. 🙂
Nonetheless, I decided I wanted to go a little crazy: Choc Banana?  Is sure reminds us having yummy chocolate drizzles or chilled onto a piece of banana would really make us go banana!
I have to say this pattern is great for anyone who has already know the simple abbreviation of US/ Canada crochet system.  By now, I am sure you know Australia and UK have their own sets of abbreviation too.  Once you know those meanings to the abbreviation then, you are ready to hook away.
But, I have to say, since this was my first amigurumi, there were a a few instructions that I did not understand.
Nonetheless, I only need to communicate with Barbara and I will find out the meaning of those instruction. The other thing I found out is to stuff my amigurumi really …. STUFFed!!!  Then is time to seal it up.  What did I use to stuff my banana? Fiber fill Of course! LOL!
And…voila! I got my Choc Banana ready to be cuddled by my children.  This sample banana is dedicated to my youngest daughter, Nayomi.  She is only 6 months old.  Lastly, stay tune with me to see more banana coming out in a very peculiar look.

“Now all I need is a cowboy hat!”, said Choc Banana
Leave a Reply

